Who We Are

Making provision for SAAM's ongoing viability

The South Australian Aviation Museum Foundation is administered by a board consisting of:

Chairman David Byrne

David is founding member of the South Australian Aviation Museum established in1984, and is the Museum’s immediate past President. He had a career of TAFE lecturing in small business development.

Secretary Mike Milln

Mike joined the Museum in 1998 and has served as its Secretary and Vice President. Now retired, his career was in airline operations management and the provision of government aviation policy advice.

Director Stephen Nelson

Stephen joined the Museum in 2010 and also serves on the committee of the Sport Aircraft Club of SA. He spent a career in RAAF service as a pilot then retired after civil aviation experience as an airline training captain.

Director Thelma Pye

Thelma joined the Museum in 1996, has been a pilot and active member of the Australian Women Pilots’ Association. She has a long-term association with the agricultural industry  and has served as a director on NFP, SA Government and private company boards.

Director Karyn Thomas

Karyn joined the Board from outside of the organisation. Her career is in corporate governance with over 25 years’ experience in business and strategic management, business development, sales, product development and innovation.

Director Maurice Henderson

Maurice joined the board from outside of the organisation. He has over 40 years experience in working for and managing of Not for Profit organisations in South Australia. He is a Fellow of the Fundraising Institute and the Institute of Company Directors.